Premier Cricket Weekend Wrap 5/6 November

Ginninderra and Queanbeyan remain undefeated at the top of the 1st Grade 1-Day Competition ladder as teams across the ACT were greeted with perfect conditions for cricket at the weekend.

1st Grade 1-Day Competition, Round 5

Ginninderra v ANU

ANU orpener Eric Bell (45) continued a strong start to the season after his team won the toss and elected to bat.

Bell was the standout batter at the top of the order for Unias Ethan Fitzpatrick (3-38) and Bradley Thomas (2-32) caused headaches with the ball.

Jake Smith (26) and Justin Sproul (24) provided some spark late in the innings, as ANU was held to 9-184 from their 50 overs.

Ginninderra openers Jay Blamey (36) and Dylan Faram (22) put on 46 for the first wicket, and when Faram fell, Blamey put on a further 54 runs for the second wicket with Rhys Healy (36).

Bradley Thomas (43*) kept chipping away at the target as Justin Sproul (2-28) and the other Uni bowlers took wickets around him.

Ginninderra eventually chased the total and kept their undefeated start to the season alive, finishing 5-190 in the 45th over.

Tuggeranong Valley v Queanbeyan

After losing the toss and being sent into bat, Queanbeyan’s top 4 produced a solid start despite not one going on to big score posts.

Shane Devoy (3-24) continued a strong start to the season with the ball, while opener Tyler Hays (3-29) also impressed.

Skipper Dean Solway (45) was the best of the Queanbeyan batters, with James Dimarhos (29), Tyler Van Luin (25) and Duane Bush (25*) all making valuable contributions as Queanbeyan reached 10-200 in 50 overs.

Queanbeyan’s opening bowling pair Van Luin (2-30) and Thomas Atlee (2-28) both struck early to have Tuggeranong’s run chase in trouble at 2-10.

Josh Staines (29) and Akshay Joseph (39) provided some fight to get things back on track but Kai Brunker (3-16) and Nic Broes (3-22) ensured the home side wouldn’t get close, as Tuggeranong was eventually bowled out for 152 in the 46th over.

North Canberra-Gungahlin v Western District

Norths skipper Rohan Wight won the toss and chose to bat first at Harrison Oval, and his top order delivered.

Tom Henry cleared the rope twice before he went for 24, with his fellow opener Jarrod Collis (42) and Chamod Herath (37) combining for a 71-run stand.

Sam Williams (40*) kept the score ticking in the middle order, while Nicholas Wood (35) helped his team past 150. Brayden Jones (2-44), Siddhartha Sharma (2-19) and Viswesh Suman (2-23) all took multiple wickets, as Norths eventually posted 8-213 from their 50 overs.

Wood then did damage with the ball after contributing with the bat, taking the first of five wickets when he trapped Ben White LBW without scoring.

Wests skipper Scott Murn (93*) batted well to help his side fight back from the early stumble.

Despite the unbeaten captain’s knock, it was not enough to see Wests to victory. Wood continued to trouble the Norths batters on his way to a brilliant 5-18 as Wests were bowled out for 184.

Weston Creek Molonglo v Eastlake

wEstonian Creek would have been feeling comfortable with a decision to bat first as Josh Myburgh (30) and Rob Trickett (29) put on a 42-run opening stand.

Logan Watts eventually made a breakthrough, taking his first of four wickets. Watts (4-29) was well supported with the ball by Nicholas Kent (2-38) and Angus Kent (2-36).

Norman Vanua continued his good form with the bat, top scoring with 45 as his side posted 10-189.

Vanua again showed he can do it all, taking the first wicket of the Eastlake chase on his way to figures of 2-29.

Eastlake Opener Jakome Roberts-Charlton was stoic at the top of the order, hitting 35 from 55 deliveries as the rest of the top order fell around him.

Blake Faunce (3-17) rolled through the Eastlake middle-order, but it was Joe Slater take did the most damage while producing an economical spell, taking 4-11 from 6.5 overs to see his side to victory as Eastlake was bowled out for 130 into the 40th over.

For full ACT Premier Cricket results, ladders and fixtures

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *