NZ vs IND Match Preview, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 1st ODI

After the T20I series win over New Zealand, Team India play a three-match ODI series against them. The first NZ vs IND ODI takes place on November 25 (Friday) at Eden Park in Auckland. The 2nd ODI will be played on November 27 (Sunday) at Seddon Park (Hamilton) while the 3rd ODI will be played on November 30 (Wednesday) at Hagley Oval (Christchurch).

Shikhar Dhawan will lead the Indian side while Kane Williamson will lead the Kiwis. All the senior players of India Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja Jasprit Bumrah, and Hardik Pandya are rested from this tour. Jadeja meanwhile is yet to recover from the knee surgery that he underwent during the Asia Cup T20 World Cup subsequently as well.

Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson
Shikhar Dhawan, Kane Williamson (Image Credits: Twitter)

For the Kiwis, Trent Boult and Martin Guptill will miss the series as they have ended their central contracts with the national team. However, the side has enough players to take experience from.

Trent Boult and Martin Guptill.
Trent Boult and Martin Guptill. Credits: ICC

India defeated the home team New Zealand in the three-match T20I series 1-0. The opening T20I game was washed out due to rain. In the 2nd T20I, the men-in-blue won by 65 runs after defending a mammoth 191-run target. The IND vs NZ 3rd T20I was tied through the DLS method.

NZ vs IND Match Preview, India Tour Of New Zealand 2022, 1st ODI


Sanju Samson-Rishabh Pant
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

There was plenty of selection dilemmas in the T20I series from the Indian team management. Sanju Samson and Umran Malik were not given games despite the conditions suiting them. Both are included in the ODI squad as well. It will be interesting to see if both are selected in the playing XI.

Umran Malik (Image Credits: Twitter)
Umran Malik (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Indian bowling attack is completely different from what it was in the T20I series. Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur Umran Malik, and Yuzvendra Chahal are the specialist pacers. Chahal Kuldeep and Washington Sundar are specialist spinners.

India last played New Zealand in New Zealand in a bilateral series in 2020. India whitewashed the Kiwis 5-0 in the T20I series winning two matches on Super Over. The Kiwis came back to win the ODI (3-0) and the Test series (2-0).

India Squad

Shikhar Dhawan(c), Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson(WK), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK)

New Zealand

New Zealand
Image Credits: Twitter/ICC

The Kiwis are heading into this series on the back of a T20I series loss. They recently reached the semifinals of the T20 World Cup as did India. They have almost a similar squad to what it was in T20Is. Specialists in Matt Henry, Tom Latham, and Michael Bracewell make the squad.

Mitchell Santner is the only specialist spinner on the side with Ish Sodhi not being considered for the series. The Kiwis are the top-ranked ODI side at the moment followed by England and India. Playing at home against an Indian side without their senior players, they would fancy themselves to win the series.

As per the ODI head-to-head is concerned both teams have played 110 games against each other with India winning 55 and the Kiwis 49. A win in the first ODI will be their 50th against the Men In Blue.

New Zealand Squad

Finn Allen, Devon Conway(w), Kane Williamson(c), Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Michael Bracewell, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Matt Henry, Tom Latham

Also Read: IND vs NZ: Shikhar Dhawan Breaks Silence On Being Replaced By KL Rahul As Captain At Last Minute For Zimbabwe ODIs

Cricket Match Prediction|T20 World Cup Match Prediction|Today Match Fantasy Prediction|Fantasy Cricket Tips|Cricket News and Updates|Cricket Live Score

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *