‘Does It Make Sense?’ – Dinesh Karthik Asks Lashes At BCCI After Tami Nadu Beats Arunachal Pradesh By 435 Runs; Calls For Separate Group For Teams From North East In Vijay Hazare Trophy

Veteran India cricketer Dinesh Karthik has called for a separate group for teams from North East in the domestic 50-over tournament, the Vijay Hazare Trophy after his state side Tamil Nadu handed Arunachal Pradesh the biggest defeat by runs ever in List A history.

Arunachal Pradesh had chosen to bowl first after their captain won the toss and Tamil Nadu began their innings which will go on to create history.

First TN openers B Sai Sudharshan and Narayan Jagadeesan added a List A record 416 runs for the first wicket, which was also the first partnership of over 400 runs in List A cricket. Sudharshan made 154 runs before getting out.

Then Jagadeesan began breaking List A records one by one as he hammered his fifth consecutive century in five matches, scoring his maiden double hundred, finishing with 277 with 25 fours and 15 sixes. This was the highest List-A score by an Indian, bettering Rohit Sharma’s 264 and highest List-A score, beating Ali Brown’s 268.

Tamil Nadu finished with 502/6, the first-ever team to score over 500 runs in List A cricket, breaking England’s record of 498/6 against the Netherlands.

Narayan Jagadeesan and Sai Sudharshan
Narayan Jagadeesan and Sai Sudharshan (PC-Twitter)

Tamil Nadu’s regular captain Dinesh Karthik, who is not playing in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, in a series of tweets congratulated Jagadeesan for his record-breaking feat.

He tweeted: “WORLD RECORD alert! What an amazing effort by @Jagadeesan_200. Couldn’t be happier for him. Big things await #5outta5Sai Sudarshan what an amazing tournament so far. This opening combo is killing it. Well done boys @TNCACricket #VijayHazareTrophy.”

Can’t They Have A Separate Group And Then Qualify?- Dinesh Karthik Question Vijay Hazare Trophy Format

However, he posed serious questions about the format of the Vijay Hazare Trophy where North East teams clash with stronger teams. The Vijay Hazare tournament features a round-robin format, which is followed by playoffs. A total of 38 teams, divided into five elite groups, take part in the competition.

Seven teams from the northeast including Mizoram (Elite Group E), Nagaland (Elite Group D), Arunachal Pradesh (Elite Group C), Sikkim, Meghalaya (Elite Group B), Manipur, and Tripura (Elite Group A) are part of the competition with all of them scraping at the bottom of their respective groups.

Narayan Jagadeesan and Sai Sudharshan
Narayan Jagadeesan and Sai Sudharshan (PC-ESPN)

Barring Tripura, the rest of these teams have lost all of their matches so far.

Karthik pointed this out and advised pooling together teams from the North East of India in a separate group rather than scattering them across the various ‘Elite’ groups alongside domestic powerhouses. Karthik says such a mismatch impacts the run rate of these teams and impacts their chances of progressing ahead.

He tweeted: “Does it make sense to have the north east teams play the elite teams in the league phase. It just topples the run rates of teams and imagine if a match against one of these teams gets rained off! Can’t they have a separate group and then qualify?”

Meanwhile, Tamil Nadu also created a record b beating Arunachal by 435 runs.

Also Read: IND vs NZ: “Hardik Pandya Is Not The Captain To Play It Safe”- Wasim Jaffer

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *