Celtic 2-0 Kilmarnock: Holders into sixth Scottish League Cup final in seven seasons

Daizen Maeda bundled in Celtic's first goal against Kilmarnock in the League Cup semi-final at Hampden
Daizen Maeda got the final touch to score Celtic’s first goal

Celtic saw off Kilmarnock’s stubborn resistance to reach their sixth Viaplay Cup final in seven seasons.

Maeda’s feint touch from Kyle Lafferty’s attempted clearance flew past Sam Walker to give holders Celtic the lead in the first half at Hampden.

The Japan forward had another goal ruled out for an offside, as did compatriot Reo Hatate.

Giorgos Giakoumakis settled the tie in stoppage time, moments after appearing to foul Joe Wright in the other box.

Kilmarnock will feel aggrieved that no penalty was given, as they played their part in absorbing semi-final

Danny Armstrong was the outstanding player for the Ayrshire club and had opportunities to level up, including a close-range effort on the stretch that went just wide.

But Celtic saw out the victory and set up a meeting with either Rangers or Aberdeen – who play in Sunday’s semi-final – on 26 February at the national stadium.

More to follow.

helpHow to play

Rate players out of 10 throughout or after the game. The rater will close 30 minutes after the final whistle.

Rating range key1 = Give it up10 = pure perfection


  1. Team number1Player nameHart

  2. Team number88Player nameYuranovich

  3. Team number20Player nameCarter-Vickers

  4. Team number4Player nameStarfelt

  5. Team number25Player nameBernabei

  6. Team number13Player nameMooy

  7. Team number42Player nameMcGregor

  8. Team number41Player nameHatate

  9. Team number17Player nameJota

  10. Team number8Player nameFuruhashi

  11. Team number38Player nameMaeda

  1. Team number7Player nameGiakoumakis

  2. Team number11Player nameAbada

  3. Team number14Player nameTurnbull

  4. Team number33Player nameO’Riley

  5. Team number49Player nameForest


  1. Team number20Player nameWalkers

  2. Team number2Player namemayo

  3. Team number5Player nameTaylor

  4. Team number19Player nameWright

  5. Team number11Player nameArmstrong

  6. Team number22Player nameDonnelly

  7. Team number4Player namePower

  8. Team number7Player nameMcKenzie

  9. Team number33Player namechrisene

  10. Team number28Player nameLafferty

  11. Team number23Player nameVassell

  1. Team number10Player nameJones

  2. Team number16Player nameRobinson

  3. Team number25Player nameAlebiosu

  4. Team number26Player nameDoidge

  5. Team number31Player namePolworth



Formation 4-3-3

  • 1Hart
  • 88Yuranovich
  • 20Carter-Vickers
  • 4Starfelt
  • 25Bernabei
  • 13MooySubstituted forTurnbullat 90+3′minutes
  • 42McGregor
  • 41HatateSubstituted forO’Rileyat 74′minutes
  • 17Neve FilipeSubstituted forAbadaat 73′minutes
  • 8FuruhashiSubstituted forGiakoumakisat 74′minutesBooked at 90mins
  • 38MaedaSubstituted forForestat 81′minutes


  • 2johnston
  • 6jenz
  • 7Giakoumakis
  • 11Abada
  • 14Turnbull
  • 18Kobayashi
  • 29Bain
  • 33O’Riley
  • 49Forest


Formation 3-5-2

  • 20Walkers
  • 2mayoSubstituted forAlebiosuat 87′minutes
  • 5Taylor
  • 19Wright
  • 11ArmstrongBooked at 90mins
  • 22DonnellySubstituted forPolworthat 45′minutes
  • 4Power
  • 7McKenzieSubstituted forJonesat 87′minutes
  • 33chrisene
  • 28LaffertySubstituted forDoidgeat 45′minutes
  • 23VassellSubstituted forRobinsonat 73′minutes


  • 1Hemming
  • 6Stokes
  • 8Alston
  • 10Jones
  • 16Robinson
  • 21McInroy
  • 25Alebiosu
  • 26Doidge
  • 31Polworth

Live Text

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *